Boxing Him up

I have ventured into the book of James (my bible reading is chronological so sometimes I skip around with books). There is so much in this book that I absolutely loved, but something that really stood out to me was James 1:23-25

23Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like someone who looks at his face in a mirror 24and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like. 25But whoever looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues in it—not forgetting what they have heard, but doing it—they will be blessed in what they do.

I think part of why this stood out to me was the fact that just that morning I looked in the mirror and thought “wow I look good today”, and when I turned away that confidence fell away and I was back to imagining my face as the distorted version that I’m sure most people can relate to. The question I immediately asked myself was, “If I constantly forget what I look like after looking in the mirror, then how often do I read the bible, pray, or go to church, and as soon as I am done, return to the world in thought?”

I think the concept of putting Jesus “in His own box” is something incredibly easy to fall into habit of doing.  Someone recently said to me that we so often pray that Jesus take every part of us. Yes, we pray that He take the key to our minds and our hearts, but what we don’t share is that the key we give Him keeps Him locked out of certain “doors” in our life.

Everyone has that door that they try to keep hidden, for me that’s having control. I like everything in its place at all times, and when things don’t go quite the way I planned it, a breakdown ensues. Every time I lose control, I am doing just as I did in the mirror.

I have a  painting above my bed  that reads “Be still and know that I am God” Psalm 46:10. I read that every single day multiple times a day, and the “image” I see in the mirror when I read that, is God has complete control of my life.  But, as soon as I no longer have a hold on the events of the day, I instantly turn around and forget the “image” of God’s control, I am doing just as James 1:23-25 warns about. Something I obviously need to work on in my life. Knowing this, I find a great comfort with trying to fight the sin in my life with the fact that the battle is already won.

I challenge you to find what you are forgetting when you turn away from the mirror.

Leave a Reply

